momometer

Busy moms, life in general

Exercise schmexercise!

on March 14, 2012

I hate my brother. Not really, but I hate my brother. I got motivated to do this wretched video, got my sneaks on, got a big glass of water and got to it. I was panting through the warm up…not a good sign. I made it maybe 3/4 of the way through the video, this is so not for beginners. I guess with a name like “Jillian Michael’s Ripped in 30” I should have expected pain. I can barely type. My muscles are twitching trying to lift my fingers to the keyboard. I need slow and steady, not charge into it unprepared. Not only that, but he bought me 5 lb weights. I’m no expert, but maybe smaller ones to start would be better? I am overweight. The most exercise I have had is lugging groceries up a flight of stairs, chasing small children away from dangerous situations and scooping ice cream into a cup. My cardio has been typing at a keyboard. As I sit here typing, I am listening to the last of the video. I only left it on because the baby woke up and was stomping her feet to it. I haven’t ever felt this bad during a workout, so I am hoping I can get out of bed in the morning. I think tomorrow I will try the Let’s Dance 3 Wii game my daughter got for Christmas. At least I won’t need a defibrillator for that. Oh! Important note…DO NOT eat a bowl of fat laden homemade 2 cheese mac and cheese prior to working out. I think somehow it defeats the purpose and it doesn’t mix well with all that water sloshing around in there. In fact, the noise is quite distracting if you can hear it over the sound of your own moans and groans of agony. Just saying.

Random off topic query…did you know that stickers make great accessories? They dress up any outfit, or as Anna (my 18 month old “baby”) discovered today, the tops and bottoms of your feet! She is quite the artist lately. She discovered a love of all writing utensils and stickers. My new dryer door and a few select wall-spaces have been colored with brown marker. Luckily this is a washable marker and not a Sharpie. Jayson (my 4 year old) has taken to mastering writing his name, in fact I found his John Hancock on his closet door just yesterday. In brown marker. At least he and Anna are learning valuable lessons like sharing and collaboration, right?

I will keep updating my daily struggle with exercise…stay tuned!

2 responses to “Exercise schmexercise!

  1. You have such a great talent for writing! I know exactly how you feel as u went through that video, I myself tried P90X when Pj was just under a year old, without even stretching the first time. Yeah, I was all done 20 muns into the dvd and couldn’t do half the moves. Also it’s totally fun when when a 45 min DVD takes 2 hrs to finish bc the kids constantly interrupting. II have had much better success going to the gym, even if it is only twice a week 🙂

  2. momometer says:

    Thanks! Yes, I hit pause, got Anna out, telling her “Mommy is trying to exercise. Watch and laugh.” Apparently my jiggly fat looked like a lot of fun because she came and joined me stomping her little feet. It was way cuter when she did it, believe me! I have P90X, watched just the yoga video and figured if that was that hard, I didn’t want to LOOK at the other part! I’ll find the right mix, but having been sedentary for so long, I need to work up to it! I have an awesome Yoga for Weight Loss video, but it takes like 45 mins-1 hour, so my bro bought me this other one. C’est la vie!

Leave a Reply

