momometer

Busy moms, life in general

The Plague…

on March 17, 2012

I knew something bad was going to happen as soon as I woke up. Three thoughts went running through my head…”Man am I tired!”,  “Migraines suck!” and “I feel  nauseous, I hope I don’t get what Megan had!”

Last night my daughter was up ALL night getting sick. Pale as a bedsheet, she came to me repeatedly begging for assistance. I went to bed at 2 AM, and still, she came to me in the night like a weary soldier treading exhaustedly upon the field “Mom, I was sick again, can you change my trash bag?” The poor thing felt terrible. She had a friend come to stay the night, by 11:30PM her mom was here to pick her up. Luckily, this morning Megan is well again, her usual peppy self. “I feel fine!”

Me, not so much. It’s like waiting for something you know is going to happen and there’s nothing you can do about it. Like that moment you realize that car is going to hit you and you are trapped with nowhere to go. You just wait for the impact. I feel sick to my stomach, keep getting this hot, prickly sensation, then…nothing. Yet. So, like so many of us New Englanders do before a storm hits, I make sure I have supplies. Ginger ale? Check. Crackers? Check. Popsicles? Check. Enough of everything else to get us through in case I am immobilized for a week? Check. The kids are tip-toeing around me, “Mom, are you ok? Did you get sick yet?” Like little barometers they know me and know when I am unwell. Megan is apologetic “Sorry I got you sick, Mom.” “It’s ok Megs, it’s not your fault.” “Ok, but I’m really SORRY.”

I guess it’s no surprise to you all then that I will not be attempting any kind of workout today other than a triathlon of schoolwork. I only wish there was someone I could pass the baton to, some kind of schoolwork relay race, okay, my leg is done, here’s the baton, meet you at the end!

 

Leave a Reply

