momometer

Busy moms, life in general

Have you ever h…

on March 26, 2012

Have you ever had one of those eye-opening moments where you suddenly REALLY see yourself as others do? Maybe it’s my lack of a full length mirror, or denial (it isn’t just a river in Egypt), but trying on dresses last week I saw just how overweight I have become. It made me mad, how could I let this happen? Then I thought about it, not exercising, eating lots of comfort foods, being under enormous stress almost constantly and driving way more than I’ve ever had to…it is a recipe for disaster. So I’m not going to whine and bemoan my situation, I’m going to get serious and lose the weight! Mind you, I still can’t find my scale (I’ll bet my husband who loves to secretly throw things away had a hand in this) so I don’t know exactly how much I weigh nor will I know how I am doing losing weight. This may be a good thing though because my gauge will be how well my clothes fit and how good I feel. I tend to get a little obsessed with that number on the scale. I think a good start will be to walk places when possible, like the library. The library is right through downtown which is not very far away. The kids love going for walks and it is a great excuse to get out. Why do I need to waste expensive gas to get there? The park; why drive there when I can fill up some water bottles and walk over? Mind you, the park I like best is about a mile away, but as long as I have the carriage for backup for Jayson I think I’ll be fine. Besides, we also have a playground about 3 blocks away.

Who says exercise has to be a chore? I remember being at my thinnest a few years back, my regimen? I was doing Jazzercise 3 days a week and playing at the playground with my kids. That’s right, good old-fashioned play like we did when we were kids. Has anyone heard of these “camps” for adults? They are set up to let you play games that you played in your childhood. Why pay all that money when you can do it for free (and you get to choose who you want on your “team”)?

Do you have any favorite ways to get in shape? Please share!

Leave a Reply

