momometer

Busy moms, life in general

Addicted…

on April 6, 2012

I’ll admit it, I am an addict. A coffee addict that is.  We have our coffee maker that brews coffee at 5am for us. If we forget to get it ready, like last night, we are like zombies. Both my husband and I fell asleep in the kids beds, me with Anna and he with Jayson. I awoke at 3:30 am thinking it must be 6 or later, all the lights blazing in the house. Imagine my surprise when I went to the kitchen and the clock said 3:30. I shut the lights, got my husband and went to my own bed. Fast forward to 6am. I wake up and make my bleary-eyed walk to the kitchen for a little jolt of caffeine to jump-start my sluggish brain only to find *gasp* the coffee has not been made! I stumble around the kitchen trying to prepare the coffee with my ill-functioning body and brain. That done I hit the shower in hopes of waking up at least a little bit while the coffee brews. Isn’t it funny how such a small thing has such a big impact on your day? Here I am only having my second cup at 10:30! My whole day has been off. I am bad…I generally drink anywhere from 3 cups to a pot of coffee a day. I have slowed down and am around the 3 cup mark, and switched back to half caf.

Another thing that I found can get me going is music. I used to constantly play music in my younger days, but have gotten out of it until recently. When we got our new phones, I began to use it as an alarm. Unfortunately, the ringtone I chose, Rooster, was too much of a rude awakening. Here’s the scenario, me sound asleep, “COCK-A-DOODLE-DOO! COCK-A-DOODLE-DOO! COCK-A-DOODLE-DOO! COCK-A-DOODLE-DOO!” , INCESSANTLY! Or at least until, heart-pounding like I’d just run away from a serial killer, I leapt from my bed and shut it off. I chose that ringtone thinking there was no way I’d sleep through it. I was right, but I began to fear death by heart attack. My husband had this nice mellow classical music alarm I liked, so I found a similar one on my phone. My wake up is a much kinder, gentler cello concerto now. I gradually wake up and the day starts off much better! In the car today, I was listening to my daughter’s Ke$ha cd and found myself full of energy and ready to go. So much so that when we got home, Anna and I played outside for a bit before our extremities began to change color. I even feel like I might go and exercise when she goes down for her nap.

Megan’s birthday is Sunday, yes, it falls on Easter this year. She said to me as she leaves for the bus “Oh Mom! I forgot I told my teacher I’d bring in a special snack to share for my birthday! Can you make 24 cupcakes and get them to the school for 9:45?” Mind you this was at 8:10 this am and while I had cake mix and frosting, I had no baking cups. Long story short, by the time I got Anna ready, made it to the store, bought what we needed and got back it was 9:00. So I decided that she was getting store bought cupcakes this year. Off we went to another grocery store (The one we’d gone to only had 3 packs for some odd reason) and got cupcakes. The only downside was that by the time I got to the school and brought them upstairs, they were upside down in the container. Hey, it’s hard carrying a baby and 2 bags full of cupcakes!

I am hoping the stress is done for the day and I can relax by doing some nice soothing…school work. Oh well. There’s always next year.  At least I’ve got my caffeine now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

