momometer

Busy moms, life in general

To quote Sebastian…

on April 16, 2012

“Hm. Teenagers. They think they know everything. You give them an inch, they swim all over you.” This quote from Sebastian the crab in “Disney’s the Little Mermaid” about sums it up around here lately. I have one teen who thinks they can tell me how things are going to be. Ummm, no. I’m the adult, you are the child. I am pretty good at listening to another’s point of view and if there is validity to an argument, I can be swayed. But being yelled at and sworn at? Nope, doesn’t fly. This teen also thinks because they are bigger than me they can intimidate me by puffing out their chest and standing over me, or getting in my face. It just reminds me of animals in the wild that try to make themselves bigger and more intimidating to get the other creature to back down. Again, not happening.  And really? Showering is NOT optional. It is a daily expectation, so why do you always seem surprised at this request and state “I only shower every OTHER day.” Eeeew and no.

Then 10-year-old has a similar sassy attitude. Constantly talking back, being rude and then crying and slamming doors when privileges are revoked for this behavior. Is this just because they are kids of divorced parents, or is this par for the course with these age groups?

I think I’m functioning on 1/4 of my normal brain power. I got maybe 4 1/2 -5 hours sleep last night and this wasn’t the first night this week. I think there’s only been one night where I WAS in bed before 12:30. I feel jittery and off. My guess, I will be asleep by the time Anna takes her morning nap. Speaking of which…is it soon? 🙂

So it will be summer temps today, reaching 90! This weather is driving me crazy, seriously, just pick a range and stick with it! 50’s one day, 80’s the next…makes it hard to plan anything. I did go to the park with the fam yesterday and get some reading done for school. Except, I swear I’m developing adult ADHD. Every sound had me looking up, I started 12 different conversations randomly with my husband and told him “I think I’m catching Jayson’s ADHD.” his reply? “I didn’t think it was contagious.” “It’s not, but I figured there must be some reason why I can’t focus more than 3 seconds lately.” AS I re-read this, I can see the randomly jumping topics as proof. I need to go “rest my eyes” for a few minutes.

Leave a Reply

