momometer

Busy moms, life in general

Happy Birthday, now get that bean out of your ear, or, The Busy week.

on June 5, 2012

It feels as though a month has passed since last week, or no time at all has passed, it’s hard to decide which. Jayson decided on his Birthday that sticking a bean in his ear was a great idea. He goes to 2 preschool programs and was in the morning one when he did this. I never heard the first call because I was vacuuming, but 3 hours later, after not hearing back from me, the teacher called again. She felt really REALLY bad! Kids will  be kids, there’s nothing she could do about it is my POV. I asked her if she knew why he put said bean in his ear and she said he told her this “I don’t know, but it’s really PAINFUL!” We were able to get him into the Dr’s office for 4pm, I had to go to work, so my husband took him. I got home at 5, and the bean was still there. “It was too far in for the Dr. to even attempt to get it out. He made an appointment with ENT (Ear, Nose and Throat) for tomorrow at 10.” I was upset, Jayson was supposed to go on the big field trip the next day.

Image

At 7:30am I received a call from ENT asking if we could come earlier. YES! Maybe he can make his field trip! NO! They want him in for 9 and that’s when they leave for the trip. Tomorrow is his last day there, ever. 😦 They asked what Jayson had had to eat or drink, nothing, he was still asleep. “Good. If the Dr. cannot get it out, we will need to send you to the hospital to surgically remove it.” Great. I brought Jayson in at 9, the Dr. got the bean closer to the outside of his ear, but Jayson was screaming, crying and covering his ears. Poor kid. “It’s PAINFUL! It’s REALLY, REALLY painful!” and refused to let the good Dr. do any more. So, we were sent to the hospital for an 11:30 surgery. I called my husband. Jayson was not able to have his ADHD meds and he and Anna were both in rare form, not listening, running around, yelling, fighting…this was not shaping into a good day. Plus, there were the goats. Anna was supposed to be seeing baby goats at storytime and she loves animals.

The waiting room was a challenge until Jayson took my phone and played games. I had my husband take Anna, she was a beast that day! She would see her goats after all! Finally, we were called. Jayson didn’t have much prep as they were just giving him a litle bit of gas, no IV and he didn’t even have to wear a gown. He walked off to the OR and I returned to the waiting room. Within 10-15 minutes, I was back with my little guy and he was sleeping peacefully. The good news? I was handed a small specimin jar with the offending bean and told that luckily, the bean hadn’t hit the ear drum, there was no concern over hearing loss and he just had “an ulcer where the bean was”. Phew! After Jayson awoke, we decided he wouldn’t go to school that day and went to Pizza Hut for lunch. It was a good day in his eyes! Plus, he was still able to make his graduation party that night.

Then the weekend came… if I haven’t mentioned it before, I am a Girl Scout leader. I finally got a full time co-leader this year (previously, it was just me, and last year, my ex-husband was sort of my co-leader, when he could make the meetings). Friday we met at a local store and collected 10 girls (including our own), 10 sleeping bags and an untold number of bags full of girl stuff, plus our own. Good thing we both have big vehicles! We had a bit of an issue with GPS, my CL (co-leader) found a shorter route via GPS and we decided to go that way. It brought us all over the place! We wound up taking much longer to get where we were going, had hungry complaining girls who were driving us crazy trying to find cell phone service and complaining about that! Seriously?! These girls are 9, 10 and 11! At one point, we stopped to get gas and use the bathroom and 2 of them were walking around, cell phones to the sky “I have a bar! No! 2 bars!” “Hey! I have 3!” *Sigh* Luckily we had NO SERVICE at the camp, or else it would have been a tough battle prying the phones from them to do activities.

Without delving into all the details…we settled in, had ice cream with some of the other troops, then returned to our bunks. We had an issue at bedtime getting several of the girls to stop talking and go to sleep and had to remove one from the general public. We were sharing a cabin with another, smaller troop and our girls were keeping them up. Saturday was full of fun activities, we had some free time, and in the pouring rain, 57 degree weather, 7 out of 10 of our girls went swimming. The water was actually warmer than the air. I walked down in flip flops, pants rolled up in the rain to watch 7 shivering girls swimming. It didn’t last more than 1/2 an hour and we hurried back to our cabin. There was game playing, bracelet making and skit practicing before we headed back to the activities cabin to have snack and do some more crafts. We ALL loved the shrinky dinks. I haven’t seen those since I was a kid! We had dinner, then the “campfire” which was moved indoors due to the torrential rain. We watched skits, our girls were in one too, and had a S’more before we left for home. Most troops stayed the extra night, but it made no sense to me to pay extra to sleep, wake early, clean the cabin, pack the cars, eat and be gone by 9am. We arrived back in town just after 10pm with happily chattering girls who hadn’t wanted to leave. It was a really good time. 🙂 I am still exhausted, and the fact that I keep staying up super late reading doesn’t help. I couldn’t put my book down yesterday and started the 2nd in the series. Which reminds me…I’m going to read while the little ones are still a-snooze!

One response to “Happy Birthday, now get that bean out of your ear, or, The Busy week.

  1. […] forgot to mention Jayson’s beans. You might remember my blog about the pinto bean in his ear (https://momometer.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/it-feels-as-tho/), so imagine my surprise when we were cleaning out his backpack and found a handful of some kind of […]

Leave a Reply

